John and Frances Wilson started spending their winters in St. Augustine in 1868 and eventually built the house at 34 St. Francis Street next door to the Inn. This is where Joe and Margaret Finnegan live. During that time he also added the 3rd floor to the Inn. Emily Wilson made her first visit to “Uncle John and Aunt Fanny” in 1892, and later she purchased and lived in what is now known as the Wilson House. Emily was an artist and a historian who gathered together much of the information (documents, records, etc.) that became the basis of the Historical Society’s library. For more information on these fascinating “Victorians”, click here.
St. Augustine Attractions
Visit the St. Augustine Alligator Farm
The St. Augustine Alligator Farm was first established in 1893, making it one of Florida’s oldest continually operating attractions. While